A Juicy Tidbit

As I’ve mentioned previously, I’m a big fan of Dr. Michael Greger’s (Nutritionfacts.org). In his latest blog (June 9, 2016), Dr Greger makes a convincing case for blending whole fruits (as in “smoothies”) over juicing them.  It was an interesting read for me because I had begun to think that smoothies were a bit out of favor (some experts tell us that it’s preferable to chew our food.)  In fairness, in this latest blog, Dr. Greger doesn’t really address whether it’s preferable to chew the whole fruit rather than blend it; rather he’s addressing blending vs. juicing.

He tells us that a recent Harvard School of Public Health investigation found that consumption of whole fruits is associated with a significantly lower risk of type 2 diabetes whereas fruit juice consumption is associated with higher risk. He goes on to say that if we eat apples, our cholesterol drops, but if we drink apple juice, our cholesterol may actually go up a little. Interesting information! Dr. Greger says that leaving just a little of the fiber behind (as in cloudy apple juice) adds back in some of the benefit.

It turns out that fiber is important for much, much more than as a bulking agent for bowel regularity (read the details in his blog.)

He asks the question, “Why can’t the juice industry just add some of the fiber back to the juice? It turns out that when fruits and vegetables are juiced we lose ALL the nutrients that are bound to the fiber!

The complete article is definitely worth a read. Check it out at: www.nutritionfacts.org

2 thoughts on “A Juicy Tidbit

  1. Joanne says:

    A bit of fibre in juice makes sense. In Florida, I either buy the orange juice with pulp, or squeeze a fresh orange. Back in Canada, I have noticed that the companies who sell them are now putting fibre back in many of the fruit juices sold here. It means that one has to shake the jug before pouring juice into the glass, but I feel it gives more flavour.

    Like

  2. judygresser says:

    I agree, Jo. I’ve always preferred OJ with lots of pulp. Now, when I have a yen, I’ll just throw a couple of whole, peeled oranges into my high-powered blender.

    Like

Leave a comment